» SPSU Home / Soccer / Archives / 2011 Archives / Eleven Different Hornets Earn All-Conference Awards


Eleven Different Hornets Earn All-Conference Awards

November 9, 2011

Gulfport, MS


The Southern States Athletic Conference awarded some of its top men's soccer players tonight, at the SSAC Soccer Tournament Banquet. The final four men's and women's soccer programs gathered at the Gulfport Yacht Cub where both academic and athletic awards were presented.

The following Southern Poly players were honored:

All- Freshman Team- Tyler Woodruff

All- Conference 2nd Team- Marcos Mendez (3rd time), Diego Nicholson, and Jumol Harewood

All- Conference 1st Team- Sean Grisham (2nd time), Emeka Maduka (3rd time)

All- Academic Team- Sean Grisham, Alex Phelps, Gabe Warner, Andre Santos, James Harris and Juan Henao.

"It was great to see some of our seniors being honored. They have set high standards for the players that will follow them in the program," said Head Coach Kom Momeni.

"It was also great to see Marcos and Emeka being honored for the third straight year. Their play has helped this program tremendously."

The Hornets battle Belhaven University in the semi finals of the conference tournament tomorrow night at 8:30pm. The Hornets come in as the #2 seed, while the Blazers are the #3 seed. Earlier in the year, the Blazers traveled to SPSU and handed the Hornets their first loss of the year, 1-0.










nuesoft xpress