Newsroom

» SPSU Home / Newsroom / Campus News / Women’s basketball team starts SSAC tournament play Thursday

Newsroom

Public Relations
Norton Hall R2-307
1100 South Marietta Pkwy
Marietta, GA 30060

(678) 915-7340

Women’s basketball team starts SSAC tournament play Thursday

Women’s basketball team starts SSAC tournament play Thursday

SSAC 2013 Championship Tournament logo

FEB. 26, 2013 -- The SPSU women’s basketball team will enter the Southern States Athletic Conference (SSAC) Championship Tournament on Thurs., Feb. 28, as the No. 2 seed from the Eastern Division. They will face the No. 3 West seed, the Belhaven University Blazers, at 8 p.m. Central Standard Time (9 p.m. Eastern) in Montgomery, Ala.

The nine-team, single-elimination tournament tips off Wed., Feb. 27, at 11 a.m. CST (12 p.m., EST) and concludes on Sat., March 2, at 5 p.m. CST (6 p.m. EST). If SPSU defeats Belhaven in the quarterfinal round on Thursday, the Hornets will advance to the semifinals on Fri., March 1, at 6 p.m. CST (7 p.m. EST). The tournament will decide which teams will win three automatic bids to the 33rd Annual NAIA Division I Women’s Basketball National Championship, March 13-19 in Frankfort, Ky.

The SSAC Championship Tournament bracket with all of the pairings and game times may be viewed at www.ssacsports.com.

The Hornets, ranked 24th nationally in NAIA Division I, are 23-4 overall and finished in second place in the SSAC East at 15-4.

 ©