» SPSU Home / Newsroom / Campus News / SPSU, Purdue University explore collaboration


Public Relations
Norton Hall R2-307
1100 South Marietta Pkwy
Marietta, GA 30060

(678) 915-7340

SPSU, Purdue University explore collaboration

SPSU, Purdue University explore collaboration

Purdue University logo

Marietta, Ga. (Feb. 7, 2012) The School of Engineering Technology and Management at Southern Polytechnic State University (SPSU) and the College of Technology at Purdue University are exploring a partnership that is expected to result in faculty exchanges, collaboration on research, opportunities for international study and the promotion of graduate studies to engineering technology students at the two institutions.

SPSU will host a delegation from Purdue on Fri., Feb. 10, to discuss these topics and also expanding the national agenda for engineering technology education. Dr. Jeff Ray, dean of the SPSU School of Engineering Technology and Management (ETM), and other ETM administrators will pay a reciprocal visit to the Purdue campus in the near future.

The Purdue delegation this week will consist of: Dr. Gary Bertoline, dean of the College of Technology; Dr. Ken Burbank, chair of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Technology; Dr. Robert Herrick, the Robert Hoffer Distinguished Professor; Dr. Ragu Athinarayanan, who is head of Technology Leadership and Innovation at Purdue's College of Technology;  and Dr. Eugene Coyle, a Visiting Fulbright Scholar at Purdue who is head of Electrical Engineering Systems at Dublin Institute of Technology.

“This is a collaborative discussion between two of the top engineering technology schools in the country,” said Dean Ray. “Dean Bertoline and I have been talking about this since last August.”

SPSU and Purdue University have some historical connections,” Dean Ray added, noting that SPSU’s first president, Dr. Stephen R. Cheshier came to SPSU in 1980 from Purdue – where he was chair of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department – and a number of other administrators and faculty members have followed suit.