Connect with Southern Poly

Facebook link Twitter link YouTube link

Apply to Southern Polytechnic State University

Visit Southern Polytechnic State University

Request information about Southern Polytechnic State University

SPSU Library Archives

Building C, Suite 263
L.V. Johnson Library
1100 South Marietta Pkwy
Marietta, GA 30060
Phone: (678) 915-7444
Fax: (678) 915-4944

Archives Hours

9 AM-4 PM, Monday-Friday


Erin Grant, CAI Librarian
Phone: (678) 915-7465

SPSU Home >> Library Archives >> SPSU Events >> Authors' Reception 2013

Authors' Reception 2013

The Fifteenth Annual Authors' Reception, sponsored by the President's Office, the L.V. Johnson Library, and the SPSU Foundation, was held on Thursday, October 31st from 3-4 PM in the Library Rotunda.

Various publications authored by faculty, staff, and students were on display, including collaborative publications and a digital presentation from SPSU's Research Learning Community.

Aaron Wimer, L.V. Johnson Library's Head of Reference and Research, introduced the event, followed by an address from SPSU President Dr. Lisa Rossbacher, who congratulated the SPSU community on producing an excellent and wide-ranging body of publications.

This year's main speaker was Ana Terry, SPSU’s Fulbright Scholar in Residence for 2013-2014, who delivered an incisive speech on the convergence of design and technology. Ms. Terry is an expert in the areas of graphic design, digital arts, and is an Artist Affiliate with the Dunedin School of Art in New Zealand. 

After Ms. Terry's address, guests and authors mingled and enjoyed snacks. Both L.V. Johnson Library's new Library Director, Nancy Colyar, and previous Library Director, Joyce Mills, attended this year's reception.

Check out the bibliography, agenda, and photo gallery from the event below. URLs for online publications are included in the bibliography where available. Physical copies of SPSU Author publications are retained in the SPSU Archives.

2013 SPSU Authors' Reception Agenda

2013 SPSU Authors' Reception Bibliography

Head of Reference and Research Aaron Wimer and previous Library Director Joyce MillsPrevious Library Director Joyce Mills and new Library Director Nancy ColyarTable with display of various author publicationsStanding display with various author publicationsDr. Sarah Holliday strikes a pose with guests by a display of publicationsCIO Sam Conn and Head of Reference and Research Aaron WimerDean Richard Cole (Arch/Const), previous Library Director Joyce Mills, and Associate Library Director Yongli MaTable with display of Research Learning Community publications and presentationHead of Reference and Research Aaron Wimer, CIO's Secretary Jenny Rief, and Library Director Nancy ColyarTable with display of various author publicationsTable with copies of the Authors' Reception bibliographyGuests viewing one of the standing displays of publicationsSpeaker Ana Terry and Library Director Nancy ColyarGuests enjoying the snacksHead of Reference and Research Aaron Wimer introduces President RossbacherPresident Rossbacher addresses the groupPresident Rossbacher addresses the groupSpeaker Ana Terry addresses the groupSpeaker Ana Terry addresses the groupDr. Kai Qian and Dr. Khalid SiddiqiPrevious Library Director Joyce Mills, Dr. Mark Stevens, speaker Ana Terry, and Library Director Nancy ColyarDr. Donald Ariail and some of his publications, one of which won an awardDr. Adeel Khalid and VPAA Zvi SzafranGuests mingle by the snacks