SPSU Home >> Advising >> Faculty Advisors by Degree

Faculty Advisors by Degree

Your Faculty Advisor is the expert in your major field and can bring in-depth understanding into addressing your questions and concerns. They can provide you with information on careers available in your major, what specific major courses will be best for you, and how to most effectively choose and prepare for specific graduate programs and /or careers.

A  B  C  D  E  F  G H I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U   V W X Y Z

A                                                                                                 

Accounting (major and minor; graduate major)

Please see Business Administration

Aerospace Engineering (concentration of Systems Engineering)

All SYE students can find their assigned faculty advisor and registration advisor in DegreeWorks.  If you cannot find your advisor, see Diana Cosme in Q128, dcosme@spsu.edu or 678-915-3060.

Apparel Textile Technology (Fashion Design & Product Development) (major)

Professors

Student's Last Name

Email

Office Phone

Professor Thomas Ball

A-J

tball@spsu.edu

678-915-7162

Professor Keely Clay

K-Z

kclay@spsu.edu

678-915-3173

Architecture (major)


Advisor

Year

Email

Office Phone

     Peter Pittman

3,4,5

ppittman@spsu.edu 

678-915-7388

Mary Neely     

1,2

mneely@spsu.edu

678-915-4281

Back to top

B

Biology (major and minor)

If Major Declared See Faculty Advisor , If undeclared see Professional Advisor

Faculty Advisor Track Email           Office Phone     Location
Marcia Hesser  Pre-Health Professional  mhesser@spsu.edu

678-915-6804  E103

Mark Sugalski  Pre-Health Professional   msugalsk@spsu.edu  678-915-6804  E183
Jennifer Louten  Molecular Biology & Biochemistry   jlouten@spsu.edu 678-915-6804  E108
Michael Beach Molecular Biology & Biochemistry  mbeach@spsu.edu 678-915-7342  E106
Rajnish Singh Molecular Biology & Biochemistry rsingh@spsu.edu  678-915-7415  E180
Tsai-Tien Tseng Bioinformatics   ttseng@spsu.edu 678-915-5020 E101 
Matthew Weand General Biology  mweand@spsu.edu 678-915-3175  E107
Peter Sakaris  General Biology  psakaris@spsu.edu  678-915-7356 E144 
Tsai-Tien Tseng  General Biology  ttseng@spsu.edu   678-915-5020   E101
Matthew Weand  Biology Education mweand@spsu.edu  678-915-3175  E107 

Biology Education (major)

                 Please see Biology

Business Administration (major and minor; graduate major)

                            Professional Advisor if:    Freshmen and Sophomores            
                            Faculty Advisor if:    Junior or Senior    

Faculty Advisor Student Email           Office Phone     Location
Sandra Vasa-Sideris MBA, MBA Transition, MBA Bridge svasasid@spsu.edu 678-915-3155 J328
Shannon Shumate BS Accounting sshumate@spsu.edu 678-915-5503 J339
Don Ariail MS Accounting dariail@spsu.edu 678-915-7387 J342
Bor-Yi Tsay BAS Management btsay@spsu.edu 678-915-7517 J317
Amine Khayati BS Business Administration akhayati@spsu.edu 678-915-7430 J351
Mikhail Melnik BS Business Administration mmelnik@spsu.edu 678-915-3001 J341
Max North BS Business Administration mnorth2@spsu.edu 678-915-7755  J337
Muhammad Obeidat BS Business Administration mobeidat@spsu.edu 678-915-7286 J340
Greg Quinet BS Business Administration gquinet@spsu.edu 678-915-7519 J351


            
    

Back to top


 

C                                                                                                 

Chemistry (major and minor)


Faculty Advisor Student Email           Office Phone     Location
Jack Duff See BannerWeb jduff@spsu.edu 678-915-3603 E232
Lu Kang See BannerWeb  lkang@spsu.edu 678-915-3276 E181
Wei Zhou

See BannerWeb

wzhou3@spsu.edu 678-915-3273 E142
Dan Ferreira See BannerWeb dferreira@spsu.edu 678-915-3273 E104
Alan Gabrielli Chemistry Education agabriel@spsu.edu 678-915-5011 E102

Chemistry Education (major)

                 Please see Chemistry

Civil Engineering (major)

Professors

Student's ID last #

Email

Office Phone

Sam Beadles 1 and 2 sbeadles@spsu.edu 678-915-7294
Sung-Hee Kim   3 and 4 skim4@spsu.edu 678-915-5491
Wasim Barham  5 and 6 wbarham@spsu.edu 678-915-3946
Metin Oguzmert
7 and 8 moguzmer@spsu.edu  678-915-3025

M. Karim 

 9 and 0 mkarim@spsu.edu 678-915-3026 

Civil Engineering Technology (major and minor)


Professors

Student's ID last #

Email

Office Phone

Timothy Zeigler

0,1,2,3

tzeigler@spsu.edu (678) 915-5495

Mehrdad Mesbahi

4 mmesbahi@spsu.edu (678) 915-5492 

Mike Orlandella

5 morlande@spsu.edu (678) 915-7262

Carlos Ortiz

6,7 cortiz@spsu.edu (678) 915-5496

Fatih Oncul

8 foncul@spsu.edu (678) 915-3267

Nancy Turner

9

nturner@spsu.edu

(678) 915-5497

Computer Engineering Technology (major)

 

Coordinators

Office         

Phone

Email

   CSWE & General

Beth Haynie

J353C

3572

ehaynie@spsu.edu

IT & General

Ashley McClure

J353D

6823

amcclure@spsu.edu

   CS undergrad

Pat Pierce

J376

3433

proth@spsu.edu

   CS grad

Jeff Chastine

J226

6868

jchastin@spsu.edu

Computer Game Design and Development (major and minor)

Faculty Advisor Student Email           Office Phone     Location
Jon Preston Taking major courses jpreston@spsu.edu 678-915-4982 J244

Computer Science (major and minor; graduate major)

 

Coordinators

Office         

Phone

Email

   CSWE & General

Beth Haynie

J353C

3572

ehaynie@spsu.edu

IT & General

Ashley McClure

J353D

6823

amcclure@spsu.edu

   CS undergrad

Pat Pierce

J376

3433

proth@spsu.edu

   CS grad

Jeff Chastine

J226

6868

jchastin@spsu.edu

Construction Engineering (major)

Professors

Student's ID last #

Email

Office Phone

Sam Beadles 1 and 2 sbeadles@spsu.edu 678-915-7294
Sung-Hee Kim   3 and 4 skim4@spsu.edu 678-915-5491
Wasim Barham  5 and 6 wbarham@spsu.edu 678-915-3946
Metin Oguzmert
7 and 8 moguzmer@spsu.edu  678-915-3025

M. Karim 

 9 and 0 mkarim@spsu.edu 678-915-3026 

Construction Management (major and minor; graduate major)

 

Faculty Advisor Specialty Email           Office Phone     Location
John Mench Facilities Management jmench@spsu.edu 678-915-7289 H-331
John Mench Electrical/Mechanical jmench@spsu.edu 678-915-7289 H-331
All Other Students See Banner &/or DegreeWorks for Faculty advisor

Back to top


 

E                                                                                                  

Electrical & Computer Engineering Technology (major)

Faculty Advisor Student Email           Office Phone     Location

Pam Frinzi

Computer ET pfrinizi@spsu.edu  678-915-7460 Q251

Adimathara Preethy

Computer ET   apreethy@spsu.edu  678-915-7254 Q252
Scott Tippens Computer ET stippens@spsu.edu  678-915-7278 Q250
Daren Wilcox Computer ET, Graduate dwilcox@spsu.edu  678-915-7269 G165
Craig Chin Electrical ET cchin@spsu.edu  678-915-7272 Q149
Charles Duvall Electrical ET cduvall@spsu.edu  678-915-3152 Q141
Bill Hodges Electrical ET whodges@spsu.edu  678-915-7418 Q143
Brent Jenkins Electrical ET bjenkins@spsu.edu 678-915-7433 Q144
Florian Misoc Electrical ET fmosic@spsu.edu 678-915-7423 Q148
Scott Larisch

Electrical ET,

Computer ET

slarisch@spsu.edu 678-915-3186 Q253
Jeff Wagner Electrical ET, Telecommunications ET jwagner@spsu.edu 678-915-7323 R1 M101
Tom Fallon Graduate, Telecommunications ET tfallon@spsu.edu 678-915-7431 Q249
Walt Thain Graduate, Telecommunications ET wthain@spsu.edu 678-915-7436 Q142
Omar Zia Graduate, Telecommunications ET ozia@spsu.edu 678-915-7308 Q148
Kim Davis Probationary kdavis@spsu.edu 678-915-7432 Q-139

Electrical Engineering (major)

 Speak with Faculty Advisor First. See Banner Web for Advisor

Electrical Engineering Technology (major)

 

Faculty Advisor Student Email           Office Phone     Location
Craig Chin See BannerWeb cchin@spsu.edu  678-915-7272  Q149
Charles Duvall See BannerWeb   cduvall@spsu.edu  678-915-3152 Q141
Bill Hodges See BannerWeb whodges@spsu.edu  678-915-7418  Q143
Brent Jenkins See BannerWeb bjenkins@spsu.edu  678-915-7433  Q144
Florian Misoc See BannerWeb fmisoc@spsu.edu  678-915-7423  Q148
Scott Larisch See BannerWeb  slarisch@spsu.edu  678-915-3186 Q253
Jeff Wagner See BannerWeb jwagner@spsu.edu  678-915-7323  R1 M101

Engineering Technology--Electrical (graduate major)

 

English & Professional Communication (major)

          Professional Advisor:    Undeclared Major, Associate's Degree in General Studies
             Faculty Advisor:           Declared major - Find in DegreeWorks

Back to top


 

F                                                                                                 

Fashion Design & Product Development (major in Apparel and Textile)

Professors

Student's Last Name

Email

Office Phone

Professor Thomas Ball

A-J

tball@spsu.edu

678-915-7162

Professor Keely Clay

K-Z

kclay@spsu.edu

678-915-3173

Back to top


 

G                                                                                                 

Graduate Certificate in Technical Communication

Professors

Location

Email

Office Phone

Dr. Herb Smith J347

hsmith@spsu.edu

678-915-7475

Back to top


 

H

History (minor)

 

Professors

Student's Last Name

Email

Office Phone

Office

Julie Newell

All

 jnewell@spsu.edu

678-915-7481

J305

Honors

 

Professors

If

Email

Office Phone

Location

Dr. Reichert

before scheduling classes nreicher@spsu.edu

678-915-3928

D-103

Ann Parker

not able to meet with Dr. Reichert

aparker@spsu.edu

678-915-3934

D-109

Back to top


 

I                                                                                                 

Industrial Engineering Technology (major and minor)

Professors

Student's Last Name

Email

Office Phone

Robert Atkins

A-C

professor_atkins@yahoo.com

678-915-7385

Lester Dollar

D-H

edollar@spsu.edu

678-915-7379

Christina Scherrer

I-M

cscherre@spsu.edu

678-915-5413

Kenneth Jackson

N-R

kjackso3@spsu.edu

678-915-3518

Thomas Ball

S-T

tball@spsu.edu

678-915-7162

Greg Wiles

U-Z

gwiles@spsu.edu

678-915-7314

Information & Instructional Design (graduate major)

                 See DegreeWorks for Advisor

Information Design & Communication (graduate major)

                   See DegreeWorks for Advisor

Information Technology (major, minor; graduate major)

 

Faculty Advisor Student Email           Office Phone     Location
Ashley McClure IT & General amcclure@spsu.edu 678-915-6823 J353D
Chi Zhang BSIT czhang2@spsu.edu 678-915-3428 J383
Ming Yang BASIT myang2@spsu.edu 678-915-6869 J363
Svetlana Peltsverger MSIT speltsve@spsu.edu 678-915-4285 J387
Susan Vande Ven  WebBSIT svandeve@spsu.edu 678-915-3708   J392
 Becky Rutherfoord all brutherf@spsu.edu 678-915-7400   J393

International Studies (major and minor)

Professors

If

Email

Office Phone

Location

See DegreeWorks

Major -

-

-

Thomas Rotnem

Minor

trotnem@spsu.edu

678-915-7523

J-306

Back to top


 

M                                                                                                 

Manufacturing Operations

          See Industrial Engineering Technology

Mathematics (major, minor)

          See DegreeWorks for advisor

Mathematics Education (major)

Professors

 Degree

Email

Office Phone

Office

Claudia Spiro  

Math Education

 cspiro@spsu.edu

678-915-7498 

 D-182

Mechanical Engineering (major)

All ME students can find their assigned faculty advisor and registration advisor in DegreeWorks.  If you cannot find your advisor, see Diana Cosme in Q128, dcosme@spsu.edu or 678-915-3060.

Mechanical Engineering Technology (major)

Interest

Professors

Email

Office Phone

Location

Alternative Energy 

Khazaei akhazaei@spsu.edu 4974 Q-234, ETC Suite 2SW
Bio-Technology  Nasseri snasseri@spsu.edu 7420 Q-231, ETC Suite 2SW
Graphics/CAD



Como

jcomo@spsu.edu 7403 Q-225, ETC Suite 2NW
Conrey gconrey@spsu.edu 7445 Q-227, ETC Suite 2NW
Fleming kfleming@spsu.edu 7270 Q-226, ETC Suite 2NW
HVAC Khazaei akhazaei@spsu.edu 4974 Q-234, ETC Suite 2SW
Machine Design  

Como

jcomo@spsu.edu 7403  Q-225, ETC Suite 2NW
Emert  remert@spsu.edu  7406 Q-131, ETC Suite 1SW 
 Sweigart jsweigart@spsu.edu  4985 Q-235, ETC Suite 2SW 
Manufacturing-Automation/Controls   Sweigart  jsweigart@spsu.edu   4985  Q-235, ETC Suite 2SW
Yon gyon@spsu.edu 4973 Q-233, ETC Suite 2SW
 Manufacturing-General   Emert remert@spsu.edu 7406   Q-131, ETC Suite 1SW
Horton


dhorton@spsu.edu 770.842.3357 Q-228, ETC Suite 2NW
Nasseri


snasseri@spsu.edu 7420 Q-231, ETC Suite 2SW
Manufacturing-Plastics parts
 
Emert remert@spsu.edu 7406  Q-131, ETC Suite 1SW
Fleming


 kfleming@spsu.edu  7270 Q-226, ETC Suite 2NW
Materials-Metals, Plastics, Composites Russell nrussell@spsu.edu


5480 Q-237, ETC Suite 2SW
 Sweigart  jsweigart@spsu.edu 4985 Q-235, ETC Suite 2SW
Nuclear Ghavi mghavi@spsu.edu 5531  Q-325, ETC Suite
 Power Generation, Engines Khazaei Khazaei   akhazaei@spsu.edu


 4974  Q-234, ETC Suite 2SW
Russell nrussell@spsu.edu 5480 Q-237, ETC Suite 2SW
Process Industries. Paper, Plastics  Russell nrussell@spsu.edu 5480 Q-237, ETC Suite 2SW

 

Freshmen and sophomores should see their Professional Adviser before registering each semester and if they need help creating their Educational and Graduation Plans in Degree Works. They are welcome to talk to a Faculty Adviser, especially for help selecting a concentration area.

Juniors and seniors should see their faculty adviser for help selecting elective courses. They should see their Professional Adviser at least two semesters preceding their expected graduation date to start the graduation petition process.

Mechatronics Engineering (Robotics) (major)

See DegreeWorks for Advisor

Back to top


 

N                                                                                                 

New Media Arts (major)

See DegreeWorks for advisor

Back to top


 

P                                                                                                

Physics (major and minor)

             

Faculty Advisor Student Email           Office Phone     Location
Martina McWilliams Undeclared, freshmen & sophomores mmcwilli@spsu.edu 678-915-3727 J-329
Phillip Patterson Juniors & seniors ppatters@spsu.edu 678-915-7215 H-260

Political Science (major and minor)

Professors

If

Email

Office Phone

Location

See DegreeWorks

Major -

-

-

Thomas Rotnem

Minor

trotnem@spsu.edu

678-915-7523

J-306

Professional Writing (minor)

 

Professors

Location

Email

Office Phone

Jeff Greene

J221

jgreene3@spsu.edu

678-915-3724

Psychology (major and minor)

Faculty Advisor Email           Office Phone     Location
Dr. La Juana Cochrane lcochran@sspsu.edu 678-915-7441 J-309
Student will still want to look in DegreeWorks. Dr. Cochrane will not be assigned to all declared psychology students

Back to top


 

Q                                                                                                

Quality Assurance (graduate major)

Professors

Student's Last Name

Email

Office Phone

Professor Thomas Ball

A-Z

tball@spsu.edu

678-915-7162

Back to top


 

S                                                                                                

Software Engineering (major and minor; graduate major)

 

Coordinators

Office         

Phone

Email

   CSWE & General

Beth Haynie

J353C

3572

ehaynie@spsu.edu

IT & General

Ashley McClure

J353D

6823

amcclure@spsu.edu

   CS undergrad

Pat Pierce

J376

3433

proth@spsu.edu

   CS grad

Jeff Chastine

J226

6868

jchastin@spsu.edu

Spanish (minor)

Professors

Email

Office Phone

Office

Dr. Bernice Nuhfer-Halten

bnuhferh@spsu.edu

678-915-7384

J308

Surveying and Mapping (major)

Surveying & Mapping and Land Surveying Certificate

Professors

Student's ID Last #

Email

Office Phone

Matt Wilson

3-9

mwilson0@spsu.edu (678) 915-5502

Dan Branham

 

0-2
dbranham@spsu.edu (678) 915-5494

 

Systems Engineering (major; graduate major)

All SYE students can find their assigned faculty advisor and registration advisor in DegreeWorks.  If you cannot find your advisor, see Diana Cosme in Q128, dcosme@spsu.edu or 678-915-3060.

Back to top


 

T                                                                                                

Teaching Education

Faculty Advisor Email           Office Phone     Location
Dr. George Stickel gstickel@spsu.edu 678-915-4601 J-353
Dr. Alan Gabrielli agabriel@spsu.edu 678-915-4601 J-353

Technical Communication

Professors

Location

Email

Office Phone

Dr. Herb Smith J347

hsmith@spsu.edu

678-915-7475

Telecommunications Engineering Technology (major)

          See Electrical & Computer Engineering Technology

Back to top


 

U                                                                                              

Undecided/General Studies (major--associate degree)

Advisor Student Email           Office Phone     Location
Martina McWilliams

Undecided
Major

mmcwilli@spsu.edu 678-915-3727 J-329

Back to top